Batteries

A standard battery consists of two electrodes (an anode and a cathode) and an electrolyte. The anode is negatively charged and the cathode is positively charged. The electrolyte varies according to the type of battery and has the function of circulating ions from one electrode to another. The ions allow the circulation of electrons inside the electrolyte, the latter being responsible for the generation of an electric current.

That said, when an electrical voltage is applied across the electrodes, an electrical current builds up and creates chemical reactions on the surface of the electrodes and in the electrolyte. During the discharge, the positive plates consume electrons (reduction reaction) and the negative plates release electrons (oxidation reaction). In contrast, during charging, the positive plates release electrons (oxidation reaction) and the negative plates consume electrons (reduction reaction). The product of the electrons exchanges is the generation of an electric current.

The most well-known types of batteries are lead-acid, AGM, gel and lithium batteries.

Lead-Acid batteries are the most common type of battery in the world of storage due to their technological maturity and low price. However, they need to be stored in a ventilated place and to be maintained monthly.

AGM batteries are lead-acid batteries whose interior is solid rather than liquid. This characteristic means that they require no maintenance and can store more energy than a conventional battery. Compared to gel batteries, they excel in high discharge intensities.

GEL batteries are similar to AGM batteries, the only difference being that silica has been added to the electrolyte so that it is in a viscous gel form rather than a liquid form. Compared to AGM batteries, they excel in slow discharge intensities and higher ambient temperatures.

Lithium batteries mark the beginning of a new era of energy. They tolerate complete discharges, they have the best energy densities, they are bluetooth and can even be self-heating. They are also the most resistant to high charge and discharge intensities. Although they are more expensive than the other types of batteries described above, they are the most durable choice.

Shop Batteries

Batteries

Une batterie standard se compose de deux électrodes (une anode et une cathode) et d’un électrolyte. L’anode est chargée négativement et la cathode est chargée positivement. L’électrolyte varie selon le type de batterie et il a pour fonction de faire circuler les ions d’une électrode à l’autre. Les ions permettent la circulation des électrons à l’intérieur de l’électrolyte, ces derniers étant responsables de la génération d’un courant électrique.

Cela dit, lorsqu’une tension électrique est appliquée aux bornes des électrodes, un courant électrique s’accumule et crée des réactions chimiques à la surface des électrodes et dans l’électrolyte. Pendant la décharge, les plaques positives consomment des électrons (réaction de réduction) et les plaques négatives libèrent des électrons (réaction d’oxydation). À l’opposé, pendant la charge, les plaques positives libèrent des électrons (réaction d’oxydation) et les plaques négatives consomment des électrons (réaction de réduction). Le produit des échanges d’électrons est la génération d’un courant électrique.

Les types de batteries les plus connus sont les batteries au plomb, les batteries AGM, les batteries au gel et les batteries au lithium.

Les batteries Acide-Plomb sont les plus courantes dans le monde du stockage en raison de leur maturité technologique et de leur faible prix. Cependant, elles doivent être stockées dans un endroit ventilé et font l’objet d’un entretien mensuel.

Les batteries AGM sont des batteries au plomb dont l’intérieur est solide et non liquide. Grâce à cette caractéristique, elles ne nécessitent aucun entretien et peuvent stocker plus d’énergie qu’une batterie classique. Par rapport aux batteries gel, elles excellent dans les intensités de décharge élevées.

Les batteries GEL sont similaires aux batteries AGM, à la seule différence que de la silice a été ajoutée à l’électrolyte de sorte qu’il se présente sous la forme d’un gel visqueux plutôt que sous une forme liquide. Par rapport aux batteries AGM, elles excellent dans les intensités de décharge lentes et les températures ambiantes plus élevées.

Les batteries au lithium marquent le début d’une nouvelle ère énergétique. Elles tolèrent les décharges complètes, elles ont les meilleures densités d’énergie, elles sont bluetooth et peuvent même être auto-chauffantes. Elles sont également les plus résistantes aux fortes intensités de charge et de décharge. Bien qu’elles soient plus chères que les autres types de piles décrites ci-dessus, elles constituent le choix le plus durable.

Magasinez les batteries